Rant – Generation of Apathy

Ok I’m going to appologize ahead of time for this rant.  I’m not typically one to speak my mind on these types of things but It’s been bugging me!

I live in the great state of New York.  As most people know it’s a big state with lots and lots of people.  62 of these people work for the rest of us in Albany as our representatives.  They are supposed to be our voices in our state government.  I don’t know about any of you but they are most certainly not speaking for me now!  The four years olds are fighting over who gets to go down the slide first.  But that aside what frightens me more, no one is doing anything about it.  We all grumble about how they need to get back to work and stop the bickering but who among us has done anything about it?  Where are the marches?  Where are the protest signs? I’m just as guilty as the next person be we seem to do a lot of complaining and a whole lot of nothing for action!  How many of us have so much as emailed our senators and told them that they need to get back to work?  But why not?  Why haven’t we? I have an idea.  My generatation has grown up on instant gratification and it’s only getting worse.  We have DVR’s so we can watch what we want when we want. Cell phones that rival NASA’s computer system when we went to the moon.  Fast food, instant food, anything we want as soon as we want it.  Now change, real change, is something you can’t get “on demand” you have to get up  make some noise and even against you’re hardest attempts you may still not get anywhere.  It’s goes against everything we were brought up on.  And the worst part is as soon as it comes time when you can actually voice your opinion (voting) people just blindly vote or worse yet they don’t vote at all.  That truely is a shame.

Ok I think I’ve got that off my chest now.

~Xurvis

Tags:

Leave a Reply

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Spewing Truth in the face of Lies

Un posto a ululare alla luna, mentre portando una grande croce nera.

Coping Method

a moody writer's blog

My Atheistic Journey

Thoughts on Atheism and how I got here.

XURVIS TECH BLOG

Making your personal computer PERSONAL again!

Kate Hodges, Storyteller

Telling God's stories for today's readers.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

One Good Dad

ONE OF MANY

Belly Laughs

A blog documenting my personal photography journey.

The Six Element

Millenial Leadership by Millenial Leaders

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Brandon Ray Collins

Worship Pastor - Songwriter - Producer

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Dave Shirley>>People are the Most Valuable Resource

Success Guru Says>> In My World.. YOU Make Money!

Impactchurch's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DPChapman

Just another WordPress.com weblog

