Wise Guy

Proverbs 16:20 (NLT) “Those who listen to instruction will prosper, those who trust in the Lord will be joyful.”


Ever get a piece of advice that you didn’t listen to?  How’d that work out for you?  I’ve had that happen to me on more than one occasion.  Usually it’s something small like “be sure to change your oil regularly”.  However something as small as that can have a huge effect on your life.  I didn’t listen to that advice once and let me tell you, I certainly learned the importance of that when I blew a hole in my engine doing 65 MPH down the highway.  Something that would have cost me about $30 ended up costing me a car and a lot of head ache. 

The Bible is full of instructions.  Jesus certainly gave out a lot of it.  He’s told us to do things like heal the sick, love our enemies, make disciples.  He also gives us instructions on a more personal level.  I’ve personally felt this.  When I was young my first experience with church was with worship music.  At the time I didn’t know anything about it, what it was for or why people were raising their hands.  All I knew is I felt something.  I felt a longing in my heart to be part of that.  So I learned to play the guitar.  I did this mainly for me to re-create that feeling I had.  As time went on I felt that God was telling me that I needed to bring this to more people, not just leave it confined to my bedroom.  So I started playing at small groups and soon I was told I needed to join the worship team at church.  This was scary for me. I was 16 and had never played in front of more than just a few people.  I eventually became a worship leader with my wife and now lead the team at one of our multi-site locations.  If I hadn’t listened to that little instruction years ago I wouldn’t be who I am today.

What little instruction or advice are you ignoring that maybe you should start listening to?

Leave a Reply

Nowhere Tribune

Book reviews and other news from nowhere in particular

Eclipsed Words

Aspire to inspire others & the universe will take note

formerfaith.com

Thoughts from a former Christian

Teagraves

The Skeptical Heathen

Archon's Den

The Rants & Rambles of A Grumpy Old Dude

What comes to my mind...

Spontaneous thoughts...

Dedicated to the Game

Climbing and other disturbing things.

walking on the narrow path.

walking on the narrow path with Jesus

Relish Poetry

Poetry Anthologies, Poetry Events and Poets

Story4today

Where will the story take you today? Life, Happiness, Buddhism, Theism and Atheism

Let us be Frank

Be transparent... if you dare.

Fier Sprinkler

A journey to Financial Independence via sarcasm sprinkled with some helpful tips

Bernice Ray Hollins

Exploring The Mysteries Of Life By Traversing The Fictional Universe

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

The Tipsy Gnome

Food, Beer, Sustainable Living

Pleasant Street Church of Christ

Sharing life so more people will become more like Christ.

Story Time with Dave

Have you ever read the Bible and just gone 'Wait, what?'

