Brief History Part 3

Ok I’m going to try and wrap it up. Sorry for all the story breaks :-).

So after I left the church I did my own thing for a while…that really wasn’t working out so well.  I kinda hit rock bottom having to move back in with my parents and all.  That was humbling to say the least.  Even then I still wasn’t doing the whole church thing until one weekend my dad asked me to go with them.

I reluctantly went and sat there feeling a little awkward.  The sermon began and John was preaching about the prodigal son.  Talk about hitting close to home.  At the end of the message he had us break up into a few groups and pray for each other.  At the end of that my dad pulled me close and said “He still loves you”  I nearly broke into tears right there.  

I started going back to church pretty regularly.  I was working retail so it was hard to get there as much as I would have liked.  I moved in with my soon to be wife into our first shoebox sized apartment.  I started to play once again on the worship team.  I felt like I found what I had been missing for a while.  Lee stated to sing on the team which was great because we go to do it together (and she’s a reeeeeeaaaaly good singer). 

I began to work on my voice and started leading with Lee in the new “Fireside” service at church.  It was great!  We did that for about a year and I suddenly felt I needed to grow.  I prayed about it for a while.  Sarah, who was overseeing worship at the time, asked if Lee and I would be able to lead at the Auburn site.  We didn’t know she only meant for a few weeks, so we prayed about it and said we’d love to take over there.  Totally not what she meant but it worked out well. 🙂  We have been there ever since and recently moved much closer to be able to become more involved at our site.

So that’s kinda my personal journey.  Now I’m not sure what I’ll talk about next week…AHHHH!

Leave a Reply

Nowhere Tribune

Book reviews and other news from nowhere in particular

Eclipsed Words

Aspire to inspire others & the universe will take note

formerfaith.com

Thoughts from a former Christian

Teagraves

The Skeptical Heathen

Archon's Den

The Rants & Rambles of A Grumpy Old Dude

What comes to my mind...

Spontaneous thoughts...

Dedicated to the Game

Climbing and other disturbing things.

walking on the narrow path.

walking on the narrow path with Jesus

Relish Poetry

Poetry Anthologies, Poetry Events and Poets

Story4today

Where will the story take you today? Life, Happiness, Buddhism, Theism and Atheism

Let us be Frank

Be transparent... if you dare.

Fier Sprinkler

A journey to Financial Independence via sarcasm sprinkled with some helpful tips

Bernice Ray Hollins

Exploring The Mysteries Of Life By Traversing The Fictional Universe

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

The Tipsy Gnome

Food, Beer, Sustainable Living

Pleasant Street Church of Christ

Sharing life so more people will become more like Christ.

Story Time with Dave

Have you ever read the Bible and just gone 'Wait, what?'

