On being a dad

Recently my wife and I went out to eat. As we arrived we were greeted by the hostess who asked us “Three this evening?” We looked around and realized our son was the third. As you can tell we are still getting used to the idea of being parents. I always thought while growing up that you had to have everything figured out to be a parent. If I had know we make it up as we go along I don’t think I would have been so eager to do so.

Liam was born on October 29th. Talk about a life change moment. I remember everything like it was yesterday and don’t think I’ll ever forget! Next to his actual birth the biggest moment that struck me was after they took us to the maternity wing. They wheeled Lee and I pushed Liam to you our room. They asked if we needed anything and when we said no they left. A wave of panic and terror came over me. I realized I had no idea what I was doing! I thought “HEY! Get back here and tell me what I’m supposed to do!”

After the moment of panic passed I slowly began to realize that I’m his father. Looking down at him I had a sense of calming. The world around me began to change. Things that were so important before suddenly weren’t a big deal. My baby burrito was the most important thing in the world now.

The next few months were kind of a sleepless blur. Late nights with multiple feedings certainly took it’s toll on me. After we all began to sleep a little better things got exciting. Liam was beginning to interact with the world. Each has milestone he reaches makes me swell with pride! I find myself wanting to get home from work. Not because I don’t like my job (I actually enjoy it) but to hang out with my family :-).

There I did it! A post that didn’t have to be split into multiple parts (although I could have easily done it).

Leave a Reply

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Spewing Truth in the face of Lies

Un posto a ululare alla luna, mentre portando una grande croce nera.

Coping Method

a moody writer's blog

My Atheistic Journey

Thoughts on Atheism and how I got here.

XURVIS TECH BLOG

Making your personal computer PERSONAL again!

Kate Hodges, Storyteller

Telling God's stories for today's readers.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

One Good Dad

ONE OF MANY

Belly Laughs

A blog documenting my personal photography journey.

The Six Element

Millenial Leadership by Millenial Leaders

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Brandon Ray Collins

Worship Pastor - Songwriter - Producer

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Dave Shirley>>People are the Most Valuable Resource

Success Guru Says>> In My World.. YOU Make Money!

Impactchurch's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DPChapman

Just another WordPress.com weblog

