On being a “Geek”

I’m not the stereotypical geek. Sure I wear thick framed glasses, love sci-fi, technology…ok maybe I do have some of those stereotypical tendencies.  I know that being a geek is some what cool now…I think…but it wasn’t too long ago that it meant you were an outcast.  We were forced to live out “geekdom” in basements playing D&D (actually I have never played it…). I’m not exactly sure when this change occurred.  I remember being made fun of  in elementary because I liked to keep myself looking neat by tucking in my shirt.  Once I got to high school I just started wearing khaki’s and golf shirts (pretty much still my standard attire)  because it was some what less conspicuous.

Growing up as a geek has it’s ups and downs.  Sure I had pretty good grades (would have been much better if I had done the work) but I didn’t have much of a social life.  I was (ok still am) a bit awkward around people.  I’ve gotten much better at faking it but still sometimes wonder if I’m saying the right things.  So middle school was hard for me.  A lot of people took advantage of the fact that I just wanted to fit in.  Asking me for help on homework or how to better understand a concept  and then make fun of me to their friends behind my back…sometimes to my face. We moved between 8th and 9th grade.  This was also the transition between Middle and High School.  I’m not sure if it was a good thing or a bad thing.  Sure people wouldn’t know my past at all but on the same token no one would know me.  I would pretty much lose the few friends that I had.  I had a better handle on how to assimilate at that point.  I did gain a few friends and luckily met my future wife :-).

I remember my first experience with technology.  Well “modern” technology anyway.  My dad bought a computer for work.  One day something stopped working so I thought hey how hard could it be to fix?  I opened the computer (it didn’t have an easy access side panel) and was amazed at what was inside.  I began to follow the cables to see what went where. Then I took it all apart and put it back together.  Now this didn’t fix the problem but It got my gears turning to computers.

I feel I have gotten really far off topic but then again it’s my blog…  Anyway I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m glad “geek” culture is more accepted than it once was.  No longer do I get ridiculed for being who I am, which is nice.

Leave a Reply

Nowhere Tribune

Book reviews and other news from nowhere in particular

Eclipsed Words

Aspire to inspire others & the universe will take note

formerfaith.com

Thoughts from a former Christian

Teagraves

The Skeptical Heathen

Archon's Den

The Rants & Rambles of A Grumpy Old Dude

What comes to my mind...

Spontaneous thoughts...

Dedicated to the Game

Climbing and other disturbing things.

walking on the narrow path.

walking on the narrow path with Jesus

Relish Poetry

Poetry Anthologies, Poetry Events and Poets

Story4today

Where will the story take you today? Life, Happiness, Buddhism, Theism and Atheism

Let us be Frank

Be transparent... if you dare.

Fier Sprinkler

A journey to Financial Independence via sarcasm sprinkled with some helpful tips

Bernice Ray Hollins

Exploring The Mysteries Of Life By Traversing The Fictional Universe

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

The Tipsy Gnome

Food, Beer, Sustainable Living

Pleasant Street Church of Christ

Sharing life so more people will become more like Christ.

Story Time with Dave

Have you ever read the Bible and just gone 'Wait, what?'

