On Leadership Part 2

Global-Leadership-Summit-Logo

Sorry I cheated a little last week with my re-blog but I’m back to talk about the Summit day 2.  I was able to take a lot more notes this day so it’s a little easier to recall.

I missed most of the first speaker as I was helping park cars but the second speaker Vijay Govindarajan was wonderful.  He spoke on innovation and how to be an innovative organization.  He talked about the three boxes of innovation.  Box 1 was current processes, basically the way things work today.  Box 2 was kind of a sorting box and Box 3 was the box of innovation.  Now you can’t have Box 3 with out Box 1 because Box 1 funds Box 3.  You also need to hold Box 3 to a different set of standards.  Of course the innovations are not going to make you a profit.  They will probably cost you money today. Instead you measure Box 3 on what it learns instead of what it makes.  I kind of associate this to what our church is doing with multi-site.  It’s a pretty interesting infrastructure that I may someday share in another blog post.

The next two speakers, Brené Brown and Oscar Muriu we excellent.  Dr. Brown spoke on how to connect wit the people we work with on a personal level.  A way to create deeper connections with those we lead.  Oscar Muriu spoke on multiplication of leadership.  The biggest thing that kind of stuck out at me is that we as leaders should always be mentoring the next generation of leaders.  As I’m turning 30 next year it just now starts to make sense that there will be people who follow in my wake.  It doesn’t end with my generation.  The other thing that struck me was to never do ministry alone.  Never waste an opportunity to mentor in any given situation.

I don’t remember a whole lot about the last speaker I saw (Dr. Henry Cloud) but I think his main point really did strike me.  The first was how our brain changes with failure.  He calls it the three P’s (Personal, Pervasive and Permanent).  As he explained each of them I kind of wrote down how I interpreted it.  Person – I suck: Pervasive – Everything sucks: Permanent – Everything will always suck.  I know it’s a crude illustration but I think it fits.  I thought that was interesting to see how the brain goes through each of those P’s.

So that wraps up my thoughts on Summit.  I will definitely be going again next year.  It was an amazing experience that I can’t wait to do again!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Nowhere Tribune

Book reviews and other news from nowhere in particular

Eclipsed Words

Aspire to inspire others & the universe will take note

formerfaith.com

Thoughts from a former Christian

Teagraves

The Skeptical Heathen

Archon's Den

The Rants & Rambles of A Grumpy Old Dude

What comes to my mind...

Spontaneous thoughts...

Dedicated to the Game

Climbing and other disturbing things.

walking on the narrow path.

walking on the narrow path with Jesus

Relish Poetry

Poetry Anthologies, Poetry Events and Poets

Story4today

Where will the story take you today? Life, Happiness, Buddhism, Theism and Atheism

Let us be Frank

Be transparent... if you dare.

Fier Sprinkler

A journey to Financial Independence via sarcasm sprinkled with some helpful tips

Bernice Ray Hollins

Exploring The Mysteries Of Life By Traversing The Fictional Universe

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

The Tipsy Gnome

Food, Beer, Sustainable Living

Pleasant Street Church of Christ

Sharing life so more people will become more like Christ.

Story Time with Dave

Have you ever read the Bible and just gone 'Wait, what?'

