Memories

Image

A recent blog post from a friend brought this to mind. I always think on things in my past and it feels like I’m going through someone else’s attic and looking at their treasure and not my own. I’m not saying I don’t feel any connection to my past but it has been boxed up and put away.

 I’ve had some struggles in my life. I’m sure some have struggled more and some less than I but they are my burdens none the less. But when I think back on my life. When I remember things from childhood, high school, college, and beyond it almost feels as though I’m looking through a glass. Like watching reruns of Seinfeld. I feel empathy for this past version of me but at the same time I feel disconnected. If memories are what make us who we are, does that make me a disconnected person? Do I exist only at this point in time?

 There are certain memories that I do have the I feel like they are put into a box and kept in the far back part of storage. Things I’d rather not remember and when those are unleashed it feels like a bomb goes off and I remember every bad thing that has ever happened to me in great detail. But the same isn’t true of the good memories. When something triggers a good memory it fizzles out and that’s the end of it. Usually hazy and less than spectacular.

I don’t really have a point to all this but I figured I would share it with you all.  A little bit of what goes on in my brain…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

violetwisp

short commentaries, pretty pictures and strong opinions

Spewing Truth in the face of Lies

Un posto a ululare alla luna, mentre portando una grande croce nera.

Coping Method

a moody writer's blog

My Atheistic Journey

Thoughts on Atheism and how I got here.

XURVIS TECH BLOG

Making your personal computer PERSONAL again!

Kate Hodges, Storyteller

Telling God's stories for today's readers.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

One Good Dad

ONE OF MANY

Belly Laughs

A blog documenting my personal photography journey.

The Six Element

Millenial Leadership by Millenial Leaders

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Brandon Ray Collins

Worship Pastor - Songwriter - Producer

juliansherman.net/

Building A Business While Having A Life

Dave Shirley>>People are the Most Valuable Resource

Success Guru Says>> In My World.. YOU Make Money!

Impactchurch's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DPChapman

Just another WordPress.com weblog

